Australia as a Risk Society:

Hope and fears of the past, the present and the future

29 March - 1 April 2021



Local organizing committee

Katherine E. Russo (Convenor), Giuseppe De Riso, Arianna Grasso, Roberta La Peruta, Anna Mongibello, Giuliana Regnoli, Luca Sarti

About the University of Naples "L'Orientale"

The University of Naples “L’Orientale” is the oldest school of Sinology and Oriental Studies of the European continent. With its rich tradition in languages, cultural and social studies, from Europe to Asia, Africa to the Americas and to Oceania, the university has been since its very foundation a centre for the study of the differences and points of contact between cultures. From our very foundations we have been engaged in intense international cultural relations in constant collaboration with the academic institutions of other countries.

For more info visit the UNIOR website www.unior.it

About EASA

EASA: European Association for Studies of Australia

In the wake of various European conferences dealing with aspects of Australian studies, the European Association for Studies of Australia (EASA) was founded at a meeting in 1989 at the Sir Robert Menzies Centre for Australian Studies in London. The aim of the Association is to promote the teaching of, and research in, Australian culture and studies at European tertiary institutions by providing regular information for individuals and institutions about activities, resources, and visiting experts, and by putting scholars working in comparative isolation at many universities in touch with each other. From the start the Association members have covered a wide range of subject areas across the disciplines.

The Board of EASA is always constituted with a view to a ‘good spread’ across the map of Europe, so that regional representation is adopted as far as possible. Thus, so far Presidents have been from Bologna, Berne, Toulouse, Klagenfurt, Bergen, Roskilde and Barcelona. Within Europe some countries (e.g. Britain and Germany) have their own associations for Australian studies with which we maintain relations.

At present EASA has a fairly steady membership of about 150 people, of whom currently around 80 are from Europe, working at 113 different institutions in 27 countries.

Courses with a significant portion of Australian studies content are being regularly taught at universities in Germany, France, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Denmark, Norway, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Croatia, Hungary, Poland, Austria, Belgium, Switzerland, and others.

For more info visit the EASA website http://www.australianstudies.eu/

Scientific Committee

Dany Adone

University of Cologne

Salhia Ben-Messahel

Université de Toulon

Giuseppe Balirano

Università degli Studi di Napoli “L’Orientale”

Valérie-Anne Belleflamme

Université de Liège

Rita Calabrese

Università di Salerno

Giuseppe De Riso

Università degli Studi di Napoli “L’Orientale”

Francesca Di Blasio

Università di Trento

Oliver Haag

Centre for Transcultural Studies

Marie Herbillon

Université de Liège

Lars Jensen

University of Copenhagen

Martina Horáková

Masaryk University

Gerhard Leitner

Freie Universität Berlin

Jan Lencznarowicz

Jagiellonian University

Anna Mongibello

Università degli Studi di Napoli “L’Orientale”

Alejandra Moreno Alvarez

Universidad de Oviedo

Stephen Muecke

University of Adelaide

Claudia Novosivschei

Babes Bolyai University, Rumania

Brigitta Olubas

University of New South Wales

Iva Polak

University of Zagreb

Martin Renes

Universitat de Barcelona

Astrid Schwegler

Universitat de les Illes Balears

Franca Tamisari

Università ‘Ca Foscari Venezia